

# State Central Committee Meeting December 9, 2016

The regular meeting of the State Central Committee of the Republican Party of Virginia was held at the McGuireWoods LLC, Richmond VA, on December 9, 2016. Chairman John Whitbeck called the meeting to order at 1:16pm. Secretary Jill Cook was present.

The invocation was given by Travis Witt.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Dennis Free

The Republican Creed was led by Ben Slone.

Chairman Whitbeck recognized Congressman-Elect Tom Garrett, who addressed the gathering and thanked the volunteers.

The Chair appointed Nadia Elgendy and Jack Koltisko to the Proxy Committee. The Committee reported that 13 proxies were in order.

The following members attended in person:

John Whitbeck	Dan Webb	Carey Allen
Mike Thomas	John Cosgrove	Kishore Thota
Morton Blackwell	Kevin Gentry	Janet Riddick
Jill Cook	Diana Banister	Renee Maxey
John Selph	Wendell Walker	Ed Yensho
Chris Marston	Nancy Dye	Joanne Holden
Jerry Kilgore	Bob Watson	Clara Belle Wheeler
Dennis Free	Allen Webb	Nate Boyer
Jennifer Lee	Carol Dawson	Steve Troxel
Jack Wilson	Jeff Ryer	Gene Rose
Lynn Tucker	Carolyn Weems	Anne Fitzgerald
Scott Sayre	Ashley McLeod	Nancy Smith
Ben Slone	Steve Trent	Susan Lascolette
Mark Kelly	Bill Coburn	Dewey McDonnell
Adam Tolbert	Barbara Tabb	Mark Hile
Paul Prados	Pete Burkhimer	Brian Rabbitt

Sandy Liddy Bourne Mark Sell Jack Koltisko David Foster Puneet Ahluwalia Michael Wood Jeff Wernsing Marcy Hernick Eve Gleason Corey Scott Kvle McDaniel Jenny Mundy Susan Edwards Fredy Burgos Jimmie Massie Heidi Stirrup Ryan Rauner John Hager Julie Williams Nadia Elgendy

The following members attended by proxy:

Cynthia Dunbar - proxy held by Jill Soniker
Eric Herr - proxy held by Russell Alton Wright II
Jo Thoburn - proxy held by Andrew Nicholson
Ellen Nau - proxy held by Lorraine Waddill
Jackson Miller - proxy held by Tim Hugo
Larry Kile - proxy held by Robert L. Cunningham
Chad Green - proxy held by Heather Cordasco
Carol de Triquet - proxy held by Marty Williams
Joseph Sonsmith - proxy held by Linda Rose
Ron Hedlund - proxy held by Aaron Gulbransen
Kevin Corbett - proxy held by Aaron Spradlin
Michelle Jenkins - proxy held by Nishant Grover
Miki Miller - proxy held by Jean Gannon

The proxy report was accepted.

The minutes of the regular meeting of August 27, 2016 were approved.

The Chair recognized guest speaker Krishna Rao, Communications Director of the ruling party in the Indian Parliament, who commented on the success of the US election.

#### State Chairman's Report

The Chair gave a recap of the election, noting the results and the great efforts made by our Party.

The Committee entered executive session at 1:56pm upon motion adopted by voice vote.

The Committee left executive session and the Chair recessed the Committee at 2:06pm due to an emergency drill in the building. The Committee reconvened in executive session at 2:28pm.

The Committee returned to public session at 2:33pm upon motion adopted by voice vote.

#### **Old Business**

## National Delegate Selection Party Plan Amendment

Eve Gleason, Chair of the Party Plan Committee, on behalf of the committee, reported on the Party Plan amendment referred to them at the August 27, 2016 meeting. The Committee voted NOT to adopt the amendment as written. They recognize that changes are needed, but they recommend instead that different methods be explored first before locking anything in as an amendment.

A motion was made to adopt the amendment by Sandy as originally stated. Discussion ensued.

Paul Prados moved to refer the Bourne amendment to the Party Plan Committee with instructions to develop alternatives that include input from other people and to present options to the State Central Committee for ways we can address this at the March meeting. It will be drafted by the committee but will consider the additional language proposed by Sandy.

The Prados motion passed by standing counted vote 58-12.

## Report of Communications Best Practices Task Force

Chair Corey Scott reported that the Committee has formed five working groups and will report back at the March meeting. Working groups and members are as follows:

- Transparency w/in SCC: Jill Cook, Kyle McDaniel, Ron Hedlund, Ken Longo, John Findlay
- Information Release: Chris Marston, Mark Sell, Jeff Ryer
- SCC Member Expectations: Renee Maxey, Mike Thomas, Danielle Davis
- Social Media/Web: Corey Scott, Ben Dessart, Bill Coburn, Jordan Labiosa
- Grassroots & Activist Input/Feedback: Connie Stevens, Barbara Tabb, Janet Riddick

#### New Business

# Budget Director and Budget Committee Member Approval

The Committee approved the Chair's appointments of Jack Wilson as Budget Committee Director and Frank Loehr as member of the Budget Committee by voice vote.

### Appeal of General Counsel Opinion of August 26, 2016

The Committee upheld the ruling of the General Counsel of August 26, 2016, regarding SCC consideration of General Counsel determinations, rejecting the appeal by Paul Prados, by a rising vote of 32-41. The ruling was posted on the SCC website on August 31, 2016 and the appeal is available on the website.

#### Jennifer Byler Institute

Sandy Bourne reported that JBI would like to expand their outreach, with the goal of making it more geographically and ethnically diverse, and possibly co-ed. A task force, which will include members from Hispanic, Indian-Asian, African-American and other communities, will study the issue. SCC members were encouraged to submit candidates.

Diana Banister moved to form an *ad hoc* committee, as a subcommittee of the Party Plan Committee, to work on the convention delegate naming amendment (Bourne amendment). After discussion, Diana withdrew the motion, and asked that Eve Gleason appoint the subcommittee. Eve asked that interested parties contact her by Jan 15.

Ed Yensho moved to untable his motion from the August 27 Executive Committee meeting, which asked that the Treasurer supply an electronic report of the SCC finances, including profit/loss and balance sheet, on a monthly basis. The Chair suggested that this information can be given to any member who requests it.

Chris Marston moved to refer the motion to the Communications Best Practices Task Force. Motion was approved by voice vote.

The Committee entered executive session at 3:29pm, upon motion adopted by voice vote. The Committee returned to public session at 3:42pm, upon motion adopted by voice vote.

#### <u>Announcements</u>

- Allen Webb, a member from the First Congressional District, announced his retirement at the expiration of the current term on January 3, 2017, and the election of Robert Cunningham to succeed him.
- Diana Banister commended Chris Marston and Clara Belle Wheeler for all their help with election integrity efforts.
- Chairman Whitbeck announced an after-party following the next day's Gala (Dec 10).
- VFRW written report is attached.
- By unanimous consent, all other reports were waived.

The meeting adjourned at 3:46pm.