

Republican Party of Virginia

www.rpv.org

State Central Committee Meeting June 27, 2020

A special meeting of the State Central Committee of the Republican Party of Virginia was held by Zoom conference on June 27, 2020. Chairman Jack Wilson called the meeting to order at 4:04pm. Secretary Jill Cook was present.

The invocation was given by Travis Witt.
The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Bob Watson.
The Republican Creed was read by Thomas Turner.

The Chair appointed Carole de Triquet, Miki Miller and Cliff Dunn to the proxy committee.

The following members attended in person:

Jack Wilson	Amanda Batten	Steve "Doc" Troxel
Mike Thomas	Wendell Walker	Anne Fitzgerald
Morton Blackwell	Nancy Dye	Mark Hile
Jill Cook	Heather Stefl	David Ross
John Selph	Russ Wright	Susan Lascolette
Chris Marston	Willie Deutsch	Dewey McDonnell
Ken Nunnenkamp	Mark Daniel	Eric Wilson
Bob Watson	Carol Dawson	Sarah Curran
Dennis Free	Jeff Ryer	Vinson Palathingal
Miki Miller	Elizabeth Lankford	Zack Thompson
Carey Allen	Bill Curtis	Tyler Lester
Melvin Adams	Carole de Triquet	Marcy Hernick
Jennifer Brown	Cliff Dunn	Caleb Cruey
Ben Slone	Bill Coburn	Susan Edwards
Mark Kelly	Nicholas Profitt	Mark Sell
Adam Tolbert	Levin Turner	Ron Wright
Geary Higgins	Elizabeth Butler	Heather Rice
Melissa Beaudoin	Renee Maxey	Richard McCarty
lan Waite	Ed Yensho	Mike Ginsberg
Thomas Turner	Nancy Rodland	Mauricio Tamargo
Paula Steiner	Will Kirk	Tom Callahan
John Cosgrove	Travis Witt	Victoria Bisel
Amanda Batten	Mary Beth Swemba	Erika Dyer

Linda Bartlett Marie Quinn Mark Cole David Suetterlein John Hager

The report of the Proxy Committee was accepted. Three proxies were found to be in order. The Committee report was later amended to include a proxy that arrived late, making four proxies found to be in order.

The following members attended by proxy: Cynthia Dunbar: proxy held by Diana Shores Jeff Adams: proxy held by Dean Welty

Cole Trower: proxy held by Darien McDaniel Joseph Sonsmith: proxy held by Melanie Rice

Chairman's Report

The Chairman noted that the Party had sufficient funds to pay for a convention and asked that the Committee hear a brief update on finances in Executive Session at the end of the meeting.

New Business

Report of the Ad Hoc Convention Committee

Nancy Dye gave the report of the Ad Hoc Convention Committee with the assistance of three members who led the Committee's workgroups.

On behalf of the Committee, Jeff Ryer moved that the terms of the Call to Convention originally scheduled for May 1-2 be modified to:

- a) Hold an Unassembled Convention on August 15 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.;
- b) At polling locations proposed by each of the Congressional District Committees no later than July 6 and ratified by the State Central Committee no later than July 11 (more than one district may propose the same polling place), with delegates from each Unit assigned the polling place in the Congressional District in which that Unit has its greatest Republican Party Voting Strength; and
- c) Provide that voting for the office of State Chairman shall be by ranked choice voting, for the office of National Committeewoman by majority vote, for the nominations for at-large Elector by plurality vote; and for the proposed change to the Party Plan by the provisions set forth in Article XI of the Plan; and that
- d) Candidates for State Chair, National Committeewoman, and nominee for at-large Elector be provided the opportunity to address the delegates by electronic presentation on August 11 at 7:30 p.m., which shall be recorded and made available for later viewing; and that
- e) Delegates who have not paid their required \$35 fee prior to August 15 be permitted to pay that fee at their assigned voting location and that the respective District Committees retain all such fees collected at their polling locations; and that

f) State convention committees appointed pursuant to Art. VIII, Sec. I of the Plan shall make recommendations to the State Central Committee for action in its role as the Committees on Credentials, Nominations, and Standing Rules under Art. XII, para. 3(a)(i).

An amendment by Mike Ginsberg was adopted without objection, adding the following:

g) The Republican Party of Virginia will cover all of the costs to the District Committees in executing the Convention.

The motion, as amended, was adopted by electronic rising vote.

Upon motion by Thomas Turner, the Committee convened in Executive Session at 6:39pm. The Committee reconvened at 6:51pm.

A motion by Jeff Ryer to certify that the topics discussed in executive session were limited to financial matters was adopted without objection.

Without objection, the Chair adjourned the meeting at 6:53pm.

The Richard D. Obenshain Center • 115 East Grace Street • Richmond, Virginia 23219 804-780-0111 • FAX: 804-343-1060

PAID FOR AND AUTHORIZED BY THE REPUBLICAN PARTY OF VIRGINIA. CONTRIBUTIONS ARE NOT TAX DEDUCTIBLE.