

## **Republican Party of Virginia**

## www.rpv.org

# State Central Committee Meeting June 6, 2020

A special meeting of the State Central Committee of the Republican Party of Virginia was held by Zoom conference on June 6, 2020. Chairman Jack Wilson called the meeting to order at 2:45pm. Secretary Jill Cook was present.

The invocation was given by Nancy Dye.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Steve Trent.

The Republican Creed was read by Thomas Turner.

The Chair appointed Carole de Triquet, Carey Allen and Thomas Turner to the proxy committee.

Amanda Batten

Mark Hile

### The following members attended in person:

Jack Wilson

Jack Wilson	/ Illialiaa Battell	Width
Mike Thomas	Wendell Walker	David Ross
Morton Blackwell	Nancy Dye	Dewey McDonnell
Cynthia Dunbar	Heather Stefl	Eric Wilson
Jill Cook	Russ Wright	Sarah Curran
John Selph	Mark Daniel	Vinson Palathingal
Chris Marston	Carol Dawson	Zack Thompson
Ken Nunnenkamp	Jeff Ryer	Tyler Lester
Bob Watson	Elizabeth Lankford	Marcy Hernick
Dennis Free	Bill Curtis	Caleb Cruey
Jennifer Lee	Wesley Edwards	Susan Edwards

Carey Allen Steve Trent Mark Sell
Melvin Adams Carole de Triquet Mike Feuz

Jennifer Brown Barbara Tabb Richard McCarty

Ben Slone Angela Swygert Erin Porch Mark Kelly E Janet Riddick Tom Callahan Victoria Bisel Adam Tolbert Renee Maxey Matt Leeds Ed Yensho Erika Dyer Paul Prados Nancy Rodland Cole Trower Ian Waite Will Kirk Linda Bartlett

Thomas Turner Mary Beth Swemba Marie Quinn

Paula Steiner Bobby Orrock John Cosgrove Steve "Doc" Troxel
Jeffrey Adams
Anne Fitzgerald

Mark Cole
David Suetterlein

The report of the Proxy Committee was accepted. Six proxies were found to be in order. Committee member Cole Trower exited early and was represented by proxy for the remainder of the meeting by Jack Blakely.

The following members attended by proxy:
Bill Coburn – proxy held by Cliff Dunn
Ryan Rauner – proxy held by Melissa Beaudoin
Travis Witt – proxy held by Nate Boyer
Julie Williams – proxy held by Andrew Nicholson
Susan Lascolette – proxy held by Anita Hile
Joseph Sonsmith – proxy held by Ken Adams

#### **New Business**

### Fifth District Appeal

The Committee ordered the following limits on debate for consideration of the appeal: on an appeal of a ruling by the chair on a point of order, debate will be limited to ten minutes, evenly divided, with individual speeches limited to one minute; on the appeal itself, twenty minutes each for the appellant and the respondent, allowing the appellant to reserve up to five minutes for rebuttal, followed by no more than 30 minutes of debate, with individual speeches limited to two minutes.

Jeff Adams made the point of order that the Appeal did not comply with the Plan and was not properly before the Committee. The Chair found the point of order not to be well taken. The Chair's ruling was appealed.

During debate on the appeal of the Chair's ruling, Paul Prados made the point of order that a member using the Zoom chat feature to comment on proceedings was out of order. The Chair found the point of order well taken and directed members not to use the chat feature to comment on the proceedings.

The order limiting debate having expired, the Committee upheld the ruling of the Chair by a roll call vote of 33-41.

The following members voted in the affirmative: Adams, J.; Adams, M.; Blackwell; Cole; Cruey; Daniel; Dawson; Dunbar; Edwards, S.; Edwards, W.; Feuz; Fitzgerald; Hile; Kirk; Lascolette; Leeds; Maxey; McDonnell; Palathingal; Prados; Rodland; Ross; Sell; Slone; Sonsmith; Stefl; Swemba; Troxel; Watson; Williams; Witt; Wright; Yensho.

The following members voted in the negative: Allen; Bartlett; Batten; Bisel; Brown; Callahan; Coburn; Cook; Cosgrove; Curran; Curtis; de Triquet; Dye; Dyer; Free; Hernick; Kelly; Lankford; Lee; Lester; McCarty; Nunnenkamp; Porch; Quinn; Rauner; Riddick; Ryer; Selph; Steiner; Suetterlein; Swygert; Tabb; Thomas; Thompson; Tolbert; Trent; Trower; Turner; Waite; Walker; Wilson, E.

The following members answered present: Marston; Wilson, J.

Del. Orrock was participating in the meeting by phone but was unable to unmute his line to cast a vote.

During the presentation of the appeal, Paul Prados made the point of order that presenters should not address committee members. The Chair found the point of order well taken and directed presenters not to address committee members.

Time for presentation under the order limiting debate having been exhausted, Mike Thomas moved: "That the State Central Committee uphold the appeal as it relates to the votes of the members who disclosed their conflict of interest, and grant requested remedy in the form of one voting location in each of the three zones specified in the rules adopted by the Fifth District Committee".

The order limiting debate having been exhausted, the Committee agreed to Bob Watson's motion to divide the question such that the remedy would be considered separately from the decision on the appeal.

The first part of the question: "That the State Central Committee uphold the appeal as it relates to the votes of the members who disclosed their conflict of interest" failed by a roll call vote of 32-41.

The following members voted in the affirmative: Allen; Bartlett; Bisel; Brown; Callahan; Coburn; Cook; Cosgrove; Curran; Curtis; de Triquet; Dye; Dyer; Edwards, W.; Free; Lankford; Lee; Nunnenkamp; Porch; Quinn; Riddick; Selph; Steiner; Swygert; Tabb; Thomas; Trent; Trower; Turner; Waite; Walker; Wilson, E.

The following members voted in the negative: Adams, J.; Adams, M.; Batten; Blackwell; Cole; Cruey; Daniel; Dawson; Dunbar; Edwards, S.; Feuz; Fitzgerald; Hernick; Hile; Kirk; Lascolette; Leeds; Lester; Maxey; McCarty; McDonnell; Palathingal; Prados; Rauner; Rodland; Ross; Ryer; Sell; Slone; Sonsmith; Stefl; Suetterlein; Swemba; Thompson; Tolbert; Troxel; Watson; Williams; Witt; Wright; Yensho

The following members answered present: Kelly, Marston, Wilson, J.

Del. Orrock was participating in the meeting by phone but was unable to unmute his line to cast a vote.

The first part of the divided question having been lost, the second part was withdrawn without objection.

#### Tenth District Appeal

The Tenth District appeal was withdrawn without objection.

All business having been completed, the Committee adjourned at 5:20pm